Submissions Confessions

At the end of January, I submitted my first novella to three publishers who are taking simultaneous submissions. Since then, I have been a complete mess. The first one sent me a confirmation email and also emailed me when the synopsis and manuscript went on to the second step – going to the board of readers. That was three weeks ago. I still have three more weeks to go before I should hear something. Same with the second publisher. I just submitted to the third publishers at the beginning of February, so I have four more weeks to go with them. And I am a nervous wreak.

Every day, I check my email obsessively only to find that every time my phone jingles, it’s Old Navy telling me I need new shorts, jeans, or a dress. (Seriously, Old Navy. Chill!) After the first day of submitting (and hearing nothing, of course), I was convinced that they all hated what I sent and threw it immediately into the trash. After two to three weeks, you can imagine what I’m like now. Sometimes I will be driving and have a weird, giddy breakdown where I just start laughing like a maniac because I did it: I actually submitted my work! Other days, I’ll have panic attacks because I actually submitted my work (what on earth was I thinking!).

This has been such a weird, emotional ride, but to be completely truthful, I am excited. I am not a brave person. I am the complete opposite of brave. I am an anxiety-ridden little wimp who never takes risks. So for me to submit my work is a huge step for me – one I credit to the growth that has taken place in me since I began this new journey. I have no idea what these three publishers will say, but I know that I am better prepared to accept the answers that will be given me.

How about you? Have you ever submitted a manuscript? How did you feel? What did you do? How many times did you cry and wish you could take it back?

2 thoughts on “Submissions Confessions”

  1. I did an agent search with my first manuscript, and yeah… the waiting is the worst. I wound up with some very nice, encouraging responses, and ultimately decided to move on to the next project. Now that I’m submitting again, though, I’m starting to get a real feel for “sometimes it really isn’t you,” since I now get to go back and see who switched agencies and who gave up agenting to go teach the starving orphans, and a number of other “not me” things. (Yay!)
    The important thing to remember, though, is that you’re not actually taking a risk. The worst that can happen is that these people continue not to publish you, which is exactly what they would do, if you locked your manuscript away in a trunk somewhere. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

