Multiple Projects

So, I started working on another project a couple of days ago. I’m one-fourth of the way into my first draft of a novel but have been struggling with it. Then I had an idea for another story. I went ahead and began developing the main character because I was feeling so inspired by her. I was excited about working with her in a way I haven’t been excited about working on my current project. I don’t know if that’s a bad or good thing. I tend to read more than one book at a time, so I suppose it would follow that I work on more than one writing project at a time. I’m not really starting to write anything for this new project. I developed her backstory and wrote a little about it to get it down on paper, but that’s all I have done.

An interesting thing happened, though – as soon as I started working on this new idea, I started itching to get back to Alexis’s story. I printed off what I had so far (not much) and started reading through it to see if it has any potential or just needs to be cut. I read it aloud to my husband, and he likes what I’ve got so far. It’s not good, but it’s not absolutely terrible either, so I think I can salvage what I have.

I don’t know what about the new idea sparked that desire in me to get back to the original project. I’ve read that working on a different project when you’re suffering from writer’s block is a good thing to do. I suppose something about writing anything, even if it’s not what you’re “supposed” to be writing is helpful to get the ideas and inspiration churning.

I don’t think I’m going to work on this new idea right now. I really think I’m going to go back to working on the original project, but I’ve got this back-up project now that I can run to when I’m struggling. Once I finish Alexis’s story, I suppose we’ll see what I’ve gotten done for this new project and go from there.

2 thoughts on “Multiple Projects”

  1. Hi – just found you a day early as I was strolling through the IWSG, and saw this post and thought – hey, that’s like me! And it is. I wanted to tell you, in case you like this sort of thing, that Isaac Asimov worked on three or four manuscripts at a time. This was pre-computer so he had different typewriters set up around his writing room all with projects on the go. I like that. Hope you do too. And if you aren’t in the know about Asimov he wrote or edited over 500 books. He is known mainly for his scifi – coined the word robotics – and was a very cool guy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

