Insecurities & Powering Through

So, for my very first post for the Insecure Writers Support Group, I figured I might as well write about that rejection email I just got. (I’ll write about it in more detail for day “N” of the A to Z Blog Challenge, but it’s worth mentioning now since it’s fresh).

I submitted my first manuscript to three different publishers about a month ago and just received my first rejection a few days ago. And I’m totally fine! (I’m sure you can just hear the high-pitched, neurotic voice squeezing out those words.) Honestly, though, it sucked. Really sucked. I knew it would happen. I knew trying to publish would not be some little fairy tale where a publishing godmother would call me up and said “We love you!” But I wasn’t sure exactly how I would take it. I mean, I do have severe major depressive disorder and three different anxiety disorders. I’m not exactly emotionally stable all of the time (ok, about half the time).

I think I went through the stages of grief within the past week. This is about how it went:

  1. I misread the email, right?
  2. You idiot, of course they wouldn’t like you? Why would they? It’s worthless. I’m worthless.
  3. Those jerks! They didn’t even take the whole manuscript. How could they judge it on just 5,000 words.
  4. I never should have tried. This was stupid. Why did I bother. I want wine.
  5. I can get through this. It’s just one out of three.
  6. Okay, so why didn’t they like it? Maybe we just aren’t a good fit. Is it absolutely terrible? Re-read. No, it’s not terrible. Maybe there’s hope.
  7. Okay. One turned me down. It’s not the end of the world. Let’s hear from the other two and find others to submit to.

That was my week. Today, I reached that seventh stage and started looking at publishers again. I am determined that this work has some value, and I want to share it with the world. So I am persevering, or, as I like to say, I will prevail. Giving up after one no would be a terrible mistake, I feel. Besides, doesn’t having a rejection letter under my belt make me even more of a writer now? Just one more thing I have in common with my favorite authors!

So how about you? How did you respond when you received your “no” – did you cry or scream or just shrug it off? How did you move forward?

15 thoughts on “Insecurities & Powering Through”

  1. Rejections are absolutely the worst part of becoming a traditionally published writer. Unfortunately, it’s also a necessary part.

    The sting lessens as time goes on.

    Like

  2. I am no where near the rejection stage yet, though I feel I have been rejected because of my writing already but that’s another story.

    When I was talking to my hubby about writing again and getting to the end and trying to get it published I said that I just don’t think I’ve got the “fight” in me to try and get published so why start?

    Like

  3. Well, you’re definitely in good company because we’ve all been there! Hopefully we can learn from rejection if there is some feedback, but if not – a shrug of the shoulders. It wasn’t for them. Good luck for the other two!

    Like

  4. I know everyone says this, but it does get easier. And over time, you get better and those rejections become more encouraging. It’s just all about dusting yourself off and getting right back out there again.

    Like

  5. As long as you continue to reach that last stage, you’ll make it. Remember, it’s all about timing. And the subjective opinion of those publishers you send it to. Took me eight months before I got a yes and if nothing else, that should give all writers hope.
    Sorry I’m so late, but I did want to welcome you to the IWSG!

    Like

Leave a Reply

