New Projects

Is there anything like starting a new project? There’s that sense of excitement and wonder and fear all rolled in one big ball of emotions.

I started a new project this week. Or, more accurately, picked up a project I had started a few months ago and abandoned. A few months ago, I was working on my novella series, and the timing was not right for this project. But the timing is right now. And I am so excited to be working on it.

While I usually write adult material (but not the x-rated kind), this one is for young adults. It is a coming-of-age story about a seventeen-year-old named Petunia. It’s still fantasy, because that is what I so often write. (I just like writing my own worlds rather than relying on this one.) I love Petunia. She’s a fun character to write about because she is so much like I was at seventeen (and still am): shy, awkward, and insecure. I can really tap into the emotions and thoughts that she is experiencing.

I’ve set this project as my goal for Camp NaNoWriMo, but of course I’ve already written 12,000 words out of my 50,000 goal before April has even started. There are so many fun things about this project: It’s based on another D&D campaign, so I’ve experienced several months of role-playing this character and these storylines. I’ve never written anything for young adults as an adult, so it’s a new experience. It’s WAY more lighthearted than my last project, which was a dark work. There is a ton of material. I’ve already got two books worth of material, and my husband (the DM for this campaign) has a lot more planned. He suggests there are several books worth of material to write about. But I think the most fun part is that my husband and I are working on this project together. As DM, he is coming up with the overarching storyline, and I, as Petunia, am creating her interaction with the material and controlling how the story develops. My husband and I enjoy working on projects together, so having this has been a blast already. And his involvement in the project is making him even better at giving feedback!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

